1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2007 Inductees


Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2007 Inductees

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

(used by permission of the Cleveland CVB)

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its 2007 inductees on January 8, 2007. These talented musicians, producers, and songwriters will be honored at the annual Induction ceremony in New York City on March 12, 2007 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

The ceremony was likely be simulcast at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, Ohio, although details have not been announced.

The 2007 inductees are:
  • R.E.M - (Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, Michael Stipe )
  • Van Halen - (Michael Anthony, Sammy Hagar, Alex Van Halen, Eddie Van Halen, David Lee Roth)
  • The Ronettes (Estelle Bennett, Ronnie Spector, Nedra Talley)-
  • Patti Smith -
  • Grand Master Flash and the Furious Five - (Kid Creole, Cowboy, Grandmaster Flash, Melle Mel, Mr. Ness, Raheim)
Each year, one non-performer is chosen for the Hall of Fame's Lifetime Achievement Award for their contribution to the genre of Rock and Roll music. This year's award winners is Ahmet Ertegun, the legendary founder of Atlantic Records. Mr. Ertegun, who passed away in 2006, was intrumental in launching the careers of such diverse artists as Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, and Led Zeppelin. He was also an important figure in the founding of the Rock Hall itself.

Artists are eligible to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first record. Inductees are chosen based on the significance of the artist's work as well as its contribution to developing the rock and roll music genre. Past inductees include The Rolling Stones, Chuck Berry, Aretha Franklin, Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, and Fats Domino.

(last updated 01-08-07)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.