Stan Hywet Hall in Akron, Ohio is a National Historic Landmark. The 65-room Tudor-style mansion was built in 1912 by Goodyear Rubber Company founder, F.A. Seiberling and his wife Gertrude. Today, the gracious mansion and elaborate gardens are open to the public. The site also hosts a variety of special events throughout the year.
Stan Hywet is named for the Old English words for "hewn stone," not a person as commonly believed. The 65-room Tudor Revival mansion was designed by Cleveland architect, Charles Sumner Schneider after several mansions in Britain. The manor house took four years to complete at a cost of $150,000.
The Manor House:
The 65-room Tudor Revival mansion exudes an old world elegance. As you enter the home, you'll see carved above the doorway: "Not for us Alone." It was the Seiberling's motto and they opened their home to dignitaries from government, entertainment, and business. The house is noted for its intricate paneling, made from American oak, rosewood, and chestnut. Innovations in the home include a built-in vacuum system and a 37-station telephone/intercom system.
The extensive gardens at Stan Hywet Hall once encompasses over 1000 acres and were designed by renowned American landscape architect, Warren Manning. Today, 70 acres accompany the estate, including a formal English garden, a wildflower meadow, and a manicured Japanese garden. Careful planning ensures that something is always blooming at Stan Hywet.
The Seiberling Family:
F.A. Seiberling and his wife, Gertrude had six children, although most of them were grown when they built Stan Hywet Hall. Mostly, it was the grandchildren who enjoyed the many attractions of the estate. The Seiberling's eldest son, John Frederick (later a US Congressman) and his wife, Henrietta lived at the Gate House. It was here that Henrietta introduced Bill W. and Dr. Bob Smith and encouraged them in their efforts to help alcoholics, a group that became A.A.
Visiting Stan Hywet Hall:
Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens is located in Akron, about 45 minutes from downtown Cleveland. Visitors can tour the manor house, explore the 70 acres of manicured gardens, or visit the conservatory (greenhouse). A variety of self-guided and organized tours are available. The original carriage house has been converted into a restaurant and gift shop.
Events and Functions at Stan Hywet Hall:
Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens host a full schedule of events each year, including the popular annual antique Car Show. The site is also an ideal spot for a party, wedding, or other event. Stan Hywet has an on-site caterer and can assist in making all the arrangements for a perfect event. For more information, call the rentals department at 330 315 3210.
Hours and Admission:
Stan Hywet Hall is open Tuesday - Sunday between April 1 and December 30. The entire Estate is closed to the public on Mondays. The Estate is open 10am-6pm, last admission at 4:30pm. Hours for the Manor House are 11am - 430pm. Molly's Shop & Café in the Carriage House is open 10am - 5pm.
Admission to the gardens, grounds, and Corbin Conservatory is $10 adults, $4 for children 6-17, and children 5 & under are free when accompanied by an adult. A self-guided tour of the house is $14 for adults and $6 for students, 6-17. A variety of guided and specialty tours are also offered.
Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens
714 N. Portage Path
Hotels Near Stan Hywet Hall:
A charming place to stay, in keeping with the 19th century ambiance of Stan Hywet Hall, is the Inn at Brandywine, located withing the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. This restored century home, turned Bed and Breakfast Inn, features unique accommodations and gracious service. For more modern lodgings, try the Residence Inn (check rates) or the Doubletree (check rates) at I-77 and Market Sts. in Fairlawn.
(Last updated on 5-10-11)